Discipline Fail

I came up with a really great idea for how to effectively discipline my children for bad behavior exhibited when they’re with the nanny, while at the same time relieving my Nanny of the responsibility of disciplining my kids, which isn’t her job.  Lost yet, follow me here.  My kids are fantastic and wonderful, but sometimes they’re not.  And when they’re not and I’m not around, it becomes a problem for the Nanny.  Since we love the Nanny and don’t want her to leave us, I had to get creative, and I did, and I came up with what I thought was the worlds greatest solution ever for discipline when I’m not available to actually do it myself.  Normally I would never recommend delayed discipline, mainly because it doesn’t work.  Kids forget what they did and after a certain point you don’t care anymore, so delaying discipline past like 10 minutes is usually a completely ineffective method.  Except, and here’s the genius part, except when it’s done through a third party, i.e. the Nanny.  Here’s how it works, it’s so simple it really is brilliant, every time one of my kids chooses to disobey and not listen, the Nanny quietly goes over to a sheet on the fridge and puts a check by the child’s name.  When I get home, I count the checks and the child gets five minutes in timeout for every check.  Sounds good right?  What could possibly go wrong with this simple plan?  Enter oldest son.  So I get home last night after my husband, and I am curious as to how the first day of my brilliant plan worked.  “There’s one check by Sofie’s name, but Viktoria (nanny) didn’t put it there.”  Confused, I asked, “Who put it there and why is there a check?”  Sofie is normally very compliant so I was a little suspicious.   “Max put a check by her name because she took his candy.  Even though Viktoria settled the matter, Sofie still took candy after she was told not to and so Max put a check by her name.”   Just lovely, six hours hasn’t passed and Max has already figured out how to get back at his sister.  Why I did not see this one coming is beyond me.  So now,  instead of providing my Nanny with a very useful method of maintaining law and order, I have unknowingly given my kids a very useful tool for exacting revenge!  I half expect my clever little sheet to be covered with crayon checks and  frowny faces!  I am torn, and most parents find themselves in this position frequently, on the one hand I can’t have my kids using the time out sheet for their own personal accounting of grievances, but on the other hand, I am kind of  impressed with my oldest son’s cleverness and initiative.  It’s a delicate balance sometimes between annoyance and admiration.  I will probably end up with another time out sheet for  false claims of abuse on the first time out sheet.  This is how bureaucracies are born folks.

4 thoughts on “Discipline Fail

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

